Home > Oh Wilbur . . ., What I've Read > Book Reviews: Catch-22

Book Reviews: Catch-22

There was only one catch…

Catch-22 has been at the top of my all time favorite novels list since I first read it as a high school senior. It was my inspiration for In the Black. I figured if any decade deserved the Joseph Heller Treatment, it was the Sixties.

Anyway, I recently read The Bridgebusters, The True Story of the Catch-22 Bomb Wing as well as The True Story of Catch-22: The Real Men and Missions of Joseph Heller’s 340th Bomb Group in World War II, written by the real Colonel Cathcart’s daughter (My Reviews). There was nothing left to do, but come full circle and read the novel itself again–for probably the fourth or fifth time. Knowing the history of the 57th Bomb Wing in which Heller served as a bombardier made his story resonate even more.

All I can say is that it remains at the very top of my favorites list. Humor is highly subjective and the novel may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it still makes me laugh out loud.

“That’s some catch, that Catch-22,” he observed.

“It’s the best there is,” Doc Daneeka agreed.

Catch-22 on Amazon.com 

 

  1. July 19, 2016 at 8:24 am

    Thanks, M. T. Me, too. It was such an eye-opener for me as a teenager to discover that a book could be both literary and hilarious, could make a serious point while creasing me up. I was always a fan of dark humour, but the tone of Catch-22 is perfect; it captures the madness of war as a rational activity. It’s the absurdity of that proposition that renders the comedy so crazy but also so poignant.

    Liked by 1 person

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

