Home > Reblogged Posts > Writers: Stop Romanticizing Rejection. Or, Why I Love Amazon.

Writers: Stop Romanticizing Rejection. Or, Why I Love Amazon.

Nicholas C. Rossis

From the blog of Nicholas C. Rossis, author of science fiction, the Pearseus epic fantasy series and children's books Copyright: Charles Schulz

I read a wonderful post on The Atlantic by Kavita Das the other day, which discussed one of my pet peeves.

Jamaican writer Marlon James recently won the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction for his riveting novel, A Brief History of Seven Killings.

The media gleefully reported how James’s first novel, John Crow’s Devil, was rejected close to 80 times before finally being published in 2005.

As expected, James had almost given up when faced with such vast rejection. “There was a time I actually thought I was writing the kind of stories people didn’t want to read,” he said, going on to describe how his desperation drove him to destroy his own work. “I actually destroyed the manuscript, I even went on my friends’ computers and erased it.”

James is hardly alone. Time and time again, the literary establishment seizes on the story…

View original post 1,744 more words

Categories: Reblogged Posts
  1. April 20, 2016 at 7:30 am

    Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

