Home > A Brave New Yo-Yo > Calling Dr. Howard, Dr. Mengele, Dr. Howard

Calling Dr. Howard, Dr. Mengele, Dr. Howard

“Are there any guns in the house?” the doctor asked.

I had never heard that question from a physician and it is not (yet) part of the FAA’s Form 8500-8 I fill out annually for my pilot medical certificate. My grandson was the patient. I was there to help him and support my daughter, so it wasn’t my place to challenge the legitimacy or medical necessity of the question, though it definitely gives me pause.

Most everyone is worried about the IRS getting into the business of medicine with the passage of ObamaCare. My worry, after that doctor appointment, is the stark reality of the AMA getting into the business of government.

Is my doctor now an agent of the federal government?

Set aside the whole Second Amendment debate over medical records as a de facto gun registry for a moment and consider a conundrum that will effect each and every single American citizen:

If I lie to my doctor, is it crime?

Knowing that everything which transpires between me and a medical professional is going to find its way into my ObamaCare mandated electronic medical record and thence into the government database known as the Federal Data Service Hub, is it — or will it become — against the law to misrepresent, omit or conceal any information deemed necessary by Congress or the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services to deliver healthcare services?  After all, I might not want government types like Lois Lerner knowing absolutely everything I might otherwise tell my PERSONAL physician.

FAA Form 8500-8 has something to say about that.  Check it out:

NOTICE –

“Whoever in any matter within the jurisdiction of any department or agency of the United States knowingly and willfully falsifies, conceals or covers up by any trick, scheme, or device a material fact, or who makes any false, fictitious or fraudulent statements or representations, or entry, may be fined up to $250,000 or imprisoned not more than 5 years, or both. (18 U.S. Code Secs. 1001; 3571). “

And, according to my “Pilot’s Bill of Rights”:

“Any response to an inquiry by a representative of the Administrator by you in connection with this investigation of your qualifications for an airman medical certificate may be used as evidence against you.”

So, has ObamaCare fundamentally transformed the doctor-patient relationship by co-opting medical professionals to serve as government agents?

I’ll bet they’re going to need a lot more than 16,000 new IRS agents to enforce the Orwellianly named Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

As a patient, I have only two simple questions for the American Medical Association and U.S. doctors everywhere:

Are you with me or against me?

How can you let this happen to your profession?

130721 - Mengele

Dr. Josef Mengele on Wikipedia

Categories: A Brave New Yo-Yo
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

